Sony BDP S3500 Blu-ray Player Review!!

Published by Jan Heaney on

Sony BDP S3500 Blu-ray Player Review!!


Hi everyone this is Lawrence WaysToWatch.com
and this is my review of the Sony BDP S3500 Blu-ray player. The BDP
S3500 is a simple straightforward Blu-ray player with the ability to stream movies.
It doesn’t play 3d Blu-ray disc nor does it upscale to 4K. The BDP S3500 has an HDMI jack, digital
audio jack and Ethernet connection. And on the front there’s one USB port. The USB
port can be used for a thumb drive or for a PlayStation controller. The small and
simple design of the BDP S3500 will blend in with any audio visual layout. Once you
get past the setup process, the user interface of the BDP S3500 is super easy
to navigate. On your home screen you get all of the common apps you use regularly.
The remote is the cheapest part of this experience but it gets the job done. The
remote is made of plastic is lightweight and will fit nicely in small hands.
Sony’s TV Side View app is a remote app that is available on both Android and
iOS devices. While I used it I had a few issues in putting text in but this app
normally works really well. When I reviewed the Sony BDP S6500 it was
clear that Sony’s Blu-ray players do not play PS3 games well. So skip this device when it comes to
gaming but when it comes to playing Blu-ray disc it loads disc really
fast. Every time I choose to watch a movie on Blu ray vs streaming it, I’m
reminded of the much higher quality that comes with Blu-ray discs. With over 80
options every major streaming service available
to BDP S3500 but while trying Netflix it felt slow and sluggish. Overall the
Sony BDP S3500 is really for the budget shopper. If you can afford to
spend an extra $30 I suggest buying the faster more feature-rich Sony BDP
S6500. The faster performance alone is worth the money. If you choose to buy the
Sony BDP S3500 it will serve the purpose of a consistent Blu-ray player. Thanks for
watching this review of the Sony BDP S3500 Blu-ray player, be sure to subscribe
for the best ways to watch movies at home. This is Lawrence for WaysToWatch.com. I’ll see you
soon


38 Comments

Graning21 · December 11, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Contemplating getting one, but I'm reading reviews on poor internet connection while trying to stream apps & that it's not working right since the update. Can you confirm this?

Camacho Project · December 27, 2015 at 10:00 am

Its such a pain that it doesnt even come with the HDMI cable

John Alleruzzo · December 27, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Don't expect the ROKU services on this player to give you any choice whatsoever on what you want to watch. This player is pre-loaded with just a few channels: Netflix, Amazon, Hulu and a few others. You CANNOT add any of the thousands of ROKU streaming services – a waste of money and a bad Christmas present. The box should have TOLD us this was a joke.

R4ym1n · January 16, 2016 at 5:02 am

thanks for the quick overview. people should only get the s6500 if they have a 4k tv though. im happy with my LED tv so i will buy this budget friendly one. on a last note, good thing you remind people that blu-ray movies (DISCS) are always more sharper than streaming them through the internet, most people dont know this

jonisrockin · January 22, 2016 at 9:37 am

this just totally broke on me after owning it for only 3 months. it turns on and only the bluray sony logo shows then it just goes black. anyone know how to fix this?

itscrucial · February 1, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Nice!!… Can you please let me/us know if it has the "Connection Server Settings" under the Network Settings? Would appreciate it, looking to use it as DLNA device. Thanks!

Gabe · February 18, 2016 at 4:17 am

can I play ps3 discs

Raymond Leggs · February 26, 2016 at 9:27 pm

They should have at least kept the analog audio outs! you can buy an HDMI to component video Active converter box, and also a HDMI to VGA converter box so you can use that with a VGA to DVI-I cable because some older and still working hd sets do not have hdmi they have VGA and DVI or you can get an HDMI audio extractor and an HDMI to DVI-I cable!

GODZYTHEKID · April 10, 2016 at 6:20 am

wait. did you say you can play a ps3 GAME on this device?

Moos craft · April 23, 2016 at 3:24 pm

I have it that cable blue-Ray!

Carlos Carroll · April 25, 2016 at 2:22 am

love it!

nikobelic85 · April 29, 2016 at 4:30 am

does this support remote play for PS 4

JustDewIt · May 15, 2016 at 7:11 am

can you insert ps3 discs and play them?

Edmundo Hernandez · May 27, 2016 at 5:02 am

I lost the remote, anyone know where I can buy a new one?

Carlos Matus · June 13, 2016 at 6:59 pm

CAN YOU PLAY , PLAY STATION GAMES FROM PS4 HERE TOO ?

Joseph Donneson · July 3, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I want my money back, seriously. Do not buy this piece of garbage — everything I (try) to accomplish with this unit begins with me in the classic troubleshooting algorithm of a hard reset….and then again, and again, and again.

This unit NE-VER just works!! It's not worth my time to elaborate, because I've wasted so much of my time already.

christopher ogden · July 15, 2016 at 6:31 pm

On netflix & UTube there is a thin vertical line that is static like & comes & goes…more annoying than anything. Any thoughts?

Israel Hernandez · July 21, 2016 at 6:55 pm

do you know how to update the unit? i even doing it by wifi and fails.

Chris Burns · July 22, 2016 at 8:04 pm

The most laughable piece of garbage I have ever wasted my money on. Every 2 days I have to disconnect the power cord because it looses connection and will continue to do so until it is reset by unplugging the cord.

Null Void · August 29, 2016 at 7:14 pm

who is the fuck would take advice from a black man… are you kidding me…LOL?

siberwolf33 · September 19, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Yeah this thing is a total piece of junk. Child lock enabled at all times and cannot disable to eject DVD. A million other huge issues with this essentially nonfunctional piece of shit

Will RoblesGonzalez · September 28, 2016 at 8:49 am

How do you connect the remote to control the tv ? It has the buttons for the power but I can't figure out how to connect it

Jason D · November 28, 2016 at 2:43 pm

do you have to use ethernet or can you connect to your home wifi?

Leisure · December 18, 2016 at 9:12 pm

when you say the usb port on the front is for a thumb drive, would this include me being able to connect an external hard drive(2TB) and stream content in from that also? Thanks

Matthew Kelly · December 25, 2016 at 11:23 pm

What about the BDP-BX370 Models?

Gustavo Velazquez · December 26, 2016 at 7:34 pm

thanks a lot

Phil C · January 4, 2017 at 1:44 am

Is this region free

Mattie Richards · January 18, 2017 at 10:04 pm

How do you use the screen mirroring?

Sultan Al-Mutairi · February 20, 2017 at 6:02 am

Great Review!. Informative Und Clear Und Well Organized.
Big Thanks From Kuwait

Kevin Mcdonnell · March 4, 2017 at 1:03 pm

usually when Electronics don't work right it's because the person doesn't know what they're doing just a matter of figuring it out

AJ G · April 28, 2017 at 3:15 am

your WiFi sucks lmao

That computer guy · May 27, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Is there a way to reset the parental controls without a password if there is one?

That computer guy · May 27, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Could you connect a usb mouse?

Karthik M · July 22, 2017 at 8:43 am

I'm using BDP-S1500 And i can't adjust volume in the remote, it is not responding please help me

Ace · August 13, 2018 at 3:34 am

Where’s the app called?

Isabel Alvarado · September 1, 2018 at 12:46 am

Disculpen trato de abrir you tube y no lo cargar a que se debe este problema

Silviu · November 10, 2018 at 11:01 pm

useful review. Cheers!

Cattus99 · February 10, 2019 at 6:06 pm

FYI – this is crap for Canadian users. Only about 5 streaming apps of any value. eg no amazon app. and cannot add any new ones. Very disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *