Reviewing Robots Playing Violin (Very Sacrilegious)

Published by Jan Heaney on

Reviewing Robots Playing Violin (Very Sacrilegious)


Wow! *robotic sounds* Whoa…! AI… It’s coming. The robot violins are coming. Whoa! Are musicians going to be replaced? *gasps* Let’s find out. Today we’re gonna watch… …the most groundbreaking footage of robot violins, maybe from Area 51, I don’t know. Imagine they created Ling Ling. AI created Ling Ling. Neuro Ling Ling! Ohhh! Guys, you want the prodigy package? Download this patch update! – Dude seriously?
– Becoming Ling Ling! Yeah. Woah. But until then, it’s pretty sacrilegious. All right, uh… Wait…that’s the definition of… A M A Z I N G ! ! ! It’s tremolo! Yeah, wow…! Even the robot’s doing it, guys! Wow! This robot needs to go on… (both) …America’s Got Talent! *chuckles* First of all, why… Why is it on wheels? Why—yeah…! *snickers* And the amount of bow it’s using… *buzz* Elon Musk needs to make a Tesla that does this. Yeah. Electric violin. I mean, what? But the fingerboard is also very short. – I wonder why.
– Oh my God it is. – It is very short.
– What the hell? And I love the… …fingerings. – The…
– Push… – Pushing the strings…yeah.
– You can hear the… *clicks tongue* – Sometimes when it changes notes, it’s like a…
– You can hear… The string doesn’t press with the bow coordination very well, and you can hear like the skidding sounds. You hear that? The C sharp like… – Did the machine like not press down fully or…?
– Definitely. – It didn’t catch the string that well.
– Yeah, it doesn’t like…start on the string properly. Why is that—? *snickers* Why is it also like, drifting…? *laughs* It’s snow…! *chuckles* Dude, it’s so epic! This is what we’re gonna send to space, guys. To the aliens out there. Humanity’s discovery of excellence and… …A M A Z I N G stuff. Tremolos. Maybe this will wow the aliens. It’s very limited musically, but, it can drift in snow. Yeah, and also it can travel to places while it plays, so… …violin on wheels. [If] you forget like, your violin at home, – Yeah, just get this…
– You press a button it like drives… – …to your rehearsal but playing while it’s driving.
– This will be the best, brings it to your bedroom… – Dude, it’s like Uber Eats.
– …when you don’t want to practice. Uber Violin! – Was that just…?
– What’s the point of left hand go… Percussive… Percussive effect! Why is he going up a ramp? I…don’t know, to showcase the… Horsepower? – Ooh! It’s gonna fall!
– Oh…! Dude, there’s snow getting on the violin! You better hope that’s a cheap violin, I mean, that’s pretty sacrilegious. *groans* I mean, I’m more for invention, but… – ‘Cause the snow is gonna be water, it melts as water.
– Yeah. And you don’t want water on your violin, – ’cause it’s bad for the wood.
– Yeah…yeah. And even just the temperature outside… – Yeah…
– …it’s probably not good for the violin. That…those button’s like hitting really hard. – I hope the fingerboard is like…okay, right?
– There will be dents. ‘Cause fingerboards kinda wear out. Next one! 7.9 million views, robot violinist. By Toyota. Whoa…! *scoff* By 2010?! – Guys, come on!
– Great estimate! *chuckles* It’s been 9 years! Look at his left hand posture. I mean, it’s still better than most… I mean, looking at this I already know they can’t shift past 3rd position. – It’s gonna hit the…
– Exactly. I should get my violin. Check out the merch! The best. The most popular. *overlapping speech* The most popular. For classical musicians. *remix* Check out the merch! Check out the merch! *groan* Can you imagine like, all these robots taking over symphony orchestras? – That’ll be freaky!
– Yeah. I love how it moves its left elbow, to get to the right string. Yeah! It’s not my preferred type of sound, to be honest. – It’s a bit pressed. Instead of a…
– Mmm, mmm… It’s like… But hey, at least its bow’s straight. Dude, this is America’s Got Talent. Got better intonation! (both) Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! It’s more impressive than that. Yeah, yeah… I think it’s impressive that it can walk out and play, – Get string crossings.
– in tune. It’s very inefficient, – but at least it’s changing strings with the left hand.
– Yeah. But, man, I think that robot needs more practice. You can say—see with the way the hand is made, – it’s so clunky that it’s not gonna be able to shift past 3rd position.
– No, impossible. – It’ll like, destroy the violin.
– Yeah. – The arm level’s pretty good, look at how that string crossing…
– Yeah. The robot has better visually, technique, than like the actors. Yeah, it does! Can actually make some sort of sound. I think that’s one of the reasons why violin is a lot harder to like, make an automated thing than say, you know, the self-playing pianos. – Yeah.
– ‘Cause it’s such a… – …element of sound and contact that is very hard to grasp.
– Yeah. And also, every instrument is different. You need to programme the robot to hear. – Hear, and also…
– Feel the… – The tension, and like gravity, and…
– Yeah… Yeah, the vibration of the strings. – It’s got vibrato.
– Yeah I know. – Ohh! It goes up and down!
– I know! *laughs* – I love how he made the…yeah…!
– It’s like the beginner cheating vibrato. But I love how they made smaller pads for it, so it doesn’t touch all the strings. Beause I was concerned, it was— – It looked like it was gonna touch 2 strings at once.
– Yeah. – It’ll be more accurate for intonation as well.
– Yeah. Yeah, so just to illustrate… Real vibrato, is like… – Back and forth.
– You can hear… But the robot is doing sacrilegious vibrato, where it’s just pressing the string up and down. More like…*illustrating robot vibrato* Rather than…*illustrating real vibrato* – *chuckles*
– Yeah! It is very clever though. It’s also very random. Guys, it’s 2019! Toyota, where’s your “Consumer…” Can you imagine that being in hospitals, you’re like sick, and then this robot comes in and play, it’s just so depressing. I’ll…slap it, I’ll punch it. *chuckles* No wait, you can’t slap it! ‘Cause robots will revenge one day. – That’s true.
– They remember! – They’ll remember…yeah.
– Gotta treat AI well. “Robot plays violin…(perfectly).” Yes. Dude. Okay, the bow just needs some… …some contact point. That…I think that’s the biggest problem with violin bow. The bow right now is too far from the E string. Subtle point that we’ve never actually mentioned in the channel. Did you know, when you’re on the E string, typically you need to be closer to the bridge, than when you’re on the G string. – So these robots are not calibrating for contact point,
– Mmm. They’re kinda just going…whatever, right? Like here. It’s way too far from the bridge. The bow’s on the wrong side! Like why would they make…it… …come from this side. Oh, can I also mention one thing with this video? – The string changes are really bad!
– Yeah…! *snickers* – No not string, the note changes.
– Okay. – You can hear like…
– Yeah. The left hand’s like, pizzing the string. I thought the tip of the bow was hitting the violin, for a second. – Ah, from the “kkkk” sound, right?
– Yeah, the “kkkk”…. – Yeah.
– Yeah, that… *clicks tongue* Perfectly…not how you play the violin. Dude, the bow just skid! Did you see that? Definitely not perfect, in my opinion. Yeah, [in my] humble opinion. I mean… *slap* No opinions. What’s the point of this? Human progress…? – *laughs*
– There’s so many other things you can make for the progress of humanity, and then… *snickers* …you make this! Because there’s so much subtlety in violin playing! But we might say that until one person one day – does invent the perfect robot violinist…and we’ll just be like,
– Yes…we’ll be waiting, guys. “Uh-oh! Our jobs are gone! Taken!” “Violins played by robots…” Oh! Two of them! It’s really out of tune. Yeah. When a robot plays out of tune, that’s really sad! You lose hope. *chuckles* Yeah…! *chuckles* Whoa. – Dude, the string change’s like…
– *snorts* They couldn’t be bothered moving the bow, *snickers* they moved the violin! Dude, the violin’s like on a roaster. It’s [a] violin kabab. I’m still trying to figure out the reason behind… I mean I guess it makes sense if it’s a viola. – Getting more and more out of tune…
– Yeah… *laughs* If robots play without musicality, I can understand, but out of tune… “The robot that can play the violin.” “I play a melody note, and that gets transferred in a computer programme, into a MIDI file.” “What bow we use, what finger, what string, all that stuff, it’s automatically done by the computer programme.” That looks and sounds very… …incredible, but… …it just sounds… – *laughs*
– …it just doesn’t sound great! It doesn’t sound like something you’ll want to listen to. I mean, I think this one’s an opposite to [the] Toyota one, it’s too light, the pressure. Yeah. It’s like, how do you even programme the division of weight, from the bow as well? The higher you shift, the weight also changes. It’s very sacrilegious. I’m actually thinking like, if… …they wanted to programme the violin that sounded good, they would need something, that can either detect the quality of the tone, and then send like, auto-feedback to the hand, – so it can adjust.
– Mm-hmm, mm-hmm. But first you need a robot that can play in tune! We’re still…quite far from that. Yes, so guys, don’t…there’s no excuse. You still have to practice. On a good note, musicians out there, our jobs won’t be stolen from the robots, yet. because they’re still a bit too sacrilegious. Don’t worry guys! Neuro-Ling Ling’s still a long way away! *laughs* Oh god, imagine that day. – Not looking forward that that, hey.
– Yeah. But hey! We live in exciting times! Don’t forget to hit like and subscribe. Check out the merch. Don’t be sacrilegious. And… Practice!


100 Comments

Duskwater · August 16, 2019 at 6:26 pm

What’s the piece they use for their outro

Daniel Nuca · August 16, 2019 at 6:54 pm

What’s the song they played at the end of the vid?

Quality Trash Art · August 16, 2019 at 8:18 pm

"snow melts into water-"
YOU DON'T SAY

Kelvin Cheng · August 16, 2019 at 8:45 pm

If the robots could use machine learning to listen for imperfections, after a couple of runs, it could potentially be calibrated to apply the correct pressure for each note to achieve the ideal sound. However, this may be more difficult for faster pieces.

Lara King · August 16, 2019 at 8:48 pm

I don’t play the violin. I’m not particularly into the violin. I have no idea how I came across this channel. And now I’m totally addicted to these videos. What sorcery is this ? 😂

Jungshooked · August 16, 2019 at 8:54 pm

I feel so guilty I don't practice after watching their videos and I just go and watch old ones which I've seen like 18990095467 times

Sullir · August 16, 2019 at 9:06 pm

Funny, would've assumed they considered Mars from Planets Suite to be overplayed like all the other awesome favorite classical music pieces and avoided it or dissed it, and not actually use it. I'm not bitter about Cannon in D(C) being their most overplayed song. It's not our fault it's catchier than the common cold and you guys had to play it a billion times as a result.

Crafty Carol's Music and Arts · August 16, 2019 at 9:18 pm

That vibrato in the beginning was actually finger vibrato

Ello Oku · August 16, 2019 at 10:16 pm

Even Robots are no match for Ling Ling. Robots needs more practice like everyone else. Lolz. 4:36

Art Deco city Architecture · August 16, 2019 at 10:16 pm

1:56 AHAHAHAHAH so subtle but hilarious when the electric violinist played 😂😂

Dogski28 · August 16, 2019 at 10:30 pm

2010: We’ll have commercially available robots by 2019.
2019: Florida man attacks McDonald’s employee after not receiving a straw.

atzuras · August 16, 2019 at 10:50 pm

these are good works in engineering though. Clearly they have no musicians in the loop yet

Kate Ellinmoor · August 16, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Please look at The phonoliszt violina it is an orchestrion that plays 3 violins at once it was built in 1914 i think? And is really amazing, wintergaten has a good video about it.

Red Cheeze · August 16, 2019 at 11:30 pm

You guys should react to violin ads for ‘fast learning’

Elizabeth · August 17, 2019 at 1:04 am

the third robot sounds like me trying to play violin lol

TypicalFlutist · August 17, 2019 at 1:09 am

Simon: "What's your name and age"

Robot: "amAzinG"

Simon: "How do you consider your playing to be"

Robot: "amAzinG!"

CestosChannelByElite · August 17, 2019 at 1:10 am

Screamer at 4:38 😥

eksentrysyti · August 17, 2019 at 1:22 am

I think they're just jealous that the robot had 4th finger vibrato.

Avaneesh Bellampalli · August 17, 2019 at 2:03 am

Robots can't seem to CATCH THE BOW

Allen Smith · August 17, 2019 at 2:51 am

Eddy: You can’t slap the robot.

Me: Because it might drop the violin…

Eddy: The robots will revenge.

ByWalker · August 17, 2019 at 3:13 am

When he said "a violin kebab" and then the montage came out, I was done 😂

RCB · August 17, 2019 at 3:31 am

Violin is harder to automate than piano.  Because pianists (say the "a") are essentially unfeeling, senseless automata themselves?  IS THAT IT EDDY???

윤예지 · August 17, 2019 at 3:39 am

당연히 로봇이니까 정확할 순 없는데 왜..그렇게 뭐라 하시지……..?

GiGi · August 17, 2019 at 4:03 am

I’m watching this instead practicing oops…

Kimi Tursi · August 17, 2019 at 4:34 am

Lol do you even have to clarify very sacrilegious at this point anymore

Oh Hell no · August 17, 2019 at 4:43 am

Finally I can feel confident about my playing lol

Claire The Pugtato · August 17, 2019 at 4:59 am

yo, where’d you find footage of me playing and why’d you post it? not cool, dude.

Minemon · August 17, 2019 at 6:53 am

Robot needs more practice… Like you! Lmao

Fabio Xodo · August 17, 2019 at 7:12 am

6:40 … was it Princess Mononoke Theme?

bakersmileyface · August 17, 2019 at 8:12 am

"I love the fingering"

Random user #74652819 · August 17, 2019 at 9:28 am

I don't know why, but I feel like Brett and Eddy's names should be the opposite of what they are. Eddy should be named Brett, and Brett should be named Eddy.

Anne Tran · August 17, 2019 at 9:33 am

The one who created ling ling is better than ling ling

Go thank ling ling’s mum

MayvelinCraft 306 · August 17, 2019 at 9:41 am

They want us to practice while dropping content everyday 😂

Vini Alwida · August 17, 2019 at 9:45 am

The first robot is a genius!
Imagine you play a violin while driving your car and drifting.
No, you can't!

Karl Legrand · August 17, 2019 at 9:54 am

That was not a "drift", that was a "glissando" 😉

Peter Ziaja · August 17, 2019 at 10:31 am

tbf we can operate a space station all year around but can`t make neuro-Ling Ling ;D

Finalph_KUN · August 17, 2019 at 11:36 am

Bruh why did it get so cold when Antonio came on wth

Wats06071 · August 17, 2019 at 11:57 am

"The snow is going to be water" LOOOOOOL. This had me in stiches.

Lily Evans · August 17, 2019 at 12:51 pm

Humans: can do so much with centuries of knowledge.

Also humans: builds sacrilegious violin playing robots.

Lichtblume28 · August 17, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Scientists: in 2010 there will be robots in hospital

scientists in 2019 : create a violin kebab that plays the canon in d

Recubican · August 17, 2019 at 1:25 pm

i had a dream about me telling people the different between real violin players versus sacrilegious players

Trunks AlphaOmega · August 17, 2019 at 2:00 pm

An ongoing anime named Carole and Tuesday features music of which were or are created by artificial intelligence.
The keyboard and guitar are mainly used by the characters. Just a suggestion squeezing in.

John Bjorkman · August 17, 2019 at 2:01 pm

Mechanical machines playing instruments have been very common for over 100 years. Here's just one example: https://www.classicfm.com/music-news/videos/automatic-violin-playing-machine/

Better than robots, I'd say.

Pamas Abhiteachap · August 17, 2019 at 2:06 pm

what is the title of the song (or piece) that they use to advertise their merch? (sorry for my bad English and lack of knowledge about classical music)

HeyItsSatan 666 · August 17, 2019 at 2:13 pm

Imagine being on your death bed and a robot comes in and starts playing Sad Violin

Lisa Noll · August 17, 2019 at 3:01 pm

This whole video made me think of the music rooms in House on the Rock. So very many instruments (including violins) set to play via robotic mechanisms. Its INTERESTING….

Daniel Javier · August 17, 2019 at 3:14 pm

React to this please https://youtu.be/aCTXwLUUStU

Hakon Soreide · August 17, 2019 at 3:32 pm

They did it better 100 years ago: https://youtu.be/xs0mP2cOmJs

Noir R. · August 17, 2019 at 3:56 pm

Please, check out that one Paganini movie with David Garret XD

Tara Tiong · August 17, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Ironically I’m sitting at my piano bench while watching this…

Curtis Xu · August 17, 2019 at 4:26 pm

I mean there are already a bunch of robots working in hospitals

Margie Moore · August 17, 2019 at 4:36 pm

is emma chamberlain editing this video

sierra renee · August 17, 2019 at 5:24 pm

I always feel attacked when I watch these videos because I’m lazy with practicing/learning

Ocean Yeung · August 17, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Sorry, no sound in space

bleachmist · August 17, 2019 at 5:56 pm

AIYA….Robots will never replace those emotions and techniques to express emotions of a REAL HUMAN VIOLINIST!

Taylor Potter · August 17, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Wanna see something crazy sacrilegious? SteveTerreberry tried to shred on a violin like he does with a guitar. I wanna see TwoSet look at THAT.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCTXwLUUStU

merrybits · August 17, 2019 at 6:55 pm

6:55 Today I accidentally learned: To get the same kind of sound the contact point needs to be closer to the bridge on the e string than on the g string.

Tried. This actually works.

Indar Deep Singh · August 17, 2019 at 7:22 pm

I think that an proper AI thats able to learn and grow on its own (like the ones we generally see in movies…which can be pretty dangerous) can play the violin properly…otherwise it will require the best of the engineers to do it. btw found my future project…

Cj Mickle · August 17, 2019 at 7:48 pm

its a robot what do you expect for it to be perfect just sayin

Katt · August 17, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Ever since I started watching two set I've not been able to keep a straight face with words like sacrilegious, iNtErEsTiNg and AMAZING

C L · August 17, 2019 at 9:08 pm

this might have been a while ago; but are you guys planing on uploading videos where you play a piece for more than just a few bars?

TooLittleInfo · August 17, 2019 at 9:11 pm

Nooooooo robots can't hurt or take revenge on you, remember the First Law of Robotics!

Parker Rabara · August 17, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Can someone please explain to me who or what ling ling is? I’m new to the channel and very confused

cruzbenz · August 17, 2019 at 10:34 pm

hold on a minute the first violin has 8 fine tuners

TheNoob · August 17, 2019 at 10:35 pm

As you can see in this video, self-playing violins were already created (by the way 100 years old).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xs0mP2cOmJs&feature=youtu.be&list=PLLLYkE3G1HEBO1slIc1RRfcfSsGyv2oMu

Angela Beutel · August 17, 2019 at 10:55 pm

"why did they make this?" cause us Asian kids would rather spe d out time making robots that can play the violin for us so our parents think we are practicing. That's why. 😅 😅 😅

Ludmor · August 17, 2019 at 11:26 pm

The technology exists for AI listening to sound and reacting correctly to it – so who knows when will someone apply it to violin-robots again

somone in the crowd · August 18, 2019 at 1:24 am

Outro????

Dalek 2150 · August 18, 2019 at 1:43 am

It's a great attempt…
Perhaps if Darpa built it, the music might sound better…..or kill you. 🎶 💀

Lucy Fe · August 18, 2019 at 2:12 am

Lol This mechanical violin is from the 1920s and it sounds way better:
https://youtu.be/Mml9c7llTvE

Renato S. · August 18, 2019 at 3:28 am

ORCHESTRIANS

Karl Morton IV · August 18, 2019 at 4:58 am

Not that anyone asked, but I was talking to a robotics guy once and he explained why they build robots that can do things like play the violin. As you say, the intricate and subtle interplay required to produce a nice sound on a violin is not unlike the delicacy a robot would need to perform surgery or repair machinery in dangerous places or whatever. People who design robots usually need someone to pony up the cash for their research so they need some kind of real world, comprehensible, reproducible proof that they are doing great things with robots. They can't necessarily bring money people into operating rooms or to dangerous places for a demonstration but bringing them into a room and showing them a robot that can play the violin, even a little bit, is something a non scientist person with fucktons of cash to invest can understand. So if they ever manage to build a robot that can play the violin well, it can probably do loads of other useful things as well.

Camila Sinisterra · August 18, 2019 at 5:07 am

It's getting hot in here… ROASTING TIME.

neat dude · August 18, 2019 at 5:08 am

Please roast the violin scene in singing in the rain

he110me · August 18, 2019 at 5:55 am

7:42 academia in a nutshell

Sabastian Anugraha · August 18, 2019 at 6:03 am

Not reviewing antique violin automata? https://youtu.be/xs0mP2cOmJs

tanjinpang · August 18, 2019 at 6:59 am

Skynet watched this video and sending robot back to the time before LingLing was born…

zoobogolis films · August 18, 2019 at 7:47 am

Apparently my parents knew some guy who knew lettuce…

Help me Hobi-Wan Kenobi, you’re my only J-Hope · August 18, 2019 at 9:49 am

this video proves that robots can never be smarter than their creators

Hetzerogeneous · August 18, 2019 at 11:27 am

If the robots can play it slowly, they can play it quickly.

Soon they’ll become the world’s fastest violinist.

maya capps · August 18, 2019 at 12:20 pm

4:38 wow I didn't need that kind of negativity I mean…. I know it's true but why you gotta expose me like that?😂

maya capps · August 18, 2019 at 12:26 pm

8:05 every musician in the world simultaneously shoots themselves in the head

NWinnStudio · August 18, 2019 at 2:11 pm

TFW the robots play better than you…..

Julia May · August 18, 2019 at 2:34 pm

If they remade that Toyota robot today with a neural network and better sensors, i bet it could eventually learn to play like Eddy, if we provided enough examples to the program.
We should just avoid using as examples the vídeos where they're goofing around with the violin. Oh wait…

Manuh · August 18, 2019 at 6:05 pm

"Violin kebab"

Andesmountain · August 18, 2019 at 7:13 pm

Hey twoset what’s that song at the end of this video? I don’t know it’s title and it’s too short a clip for Shazam. 🙁

Marina Reva · August 18, 2019 at 8:18 pm

AmaaAAaazing x'D Buuut, if you slow down the video of the second robot you can see it's actually doing "normal" vibrato. The pad on the fingers moves up and down the strings while the finger goes up and down! (Still, it's better to hear you two!) Humanityyy

Christian Vennemann · August 18, 2019 at 8:36 pm

I'll get the merch, but only if I get that recording of Brett saying, "MERCH!" to Vivaldi's "Winter".

Awesome Explosion · August 18, 2019 at 9:58 pm

… I still don’t know how to vibrato 🙁

AlexTheUmbreon5 · August 18, 2019 at 10:02 pm

NOOOOOOOOOO! We don't have cyber ling ying yet! Well if you can play it out of tune as a robot you can play it out of tune as a human as well.

AlexTheUmbreon5 · August 18, 2019 at 10:03 pm

In other words if you can play it out of tune you can play it in tune.

That One Internet Girl · August 19, 2019 at 12:30 am

At my last violin lesson, I mentioned this channel and my teacher was like ‘oh two set! They’re so funny’

unanaspig · August 19, 2019 at 1:05 am

“Human progress….*HAHAHA*

Jenna Dennis · August 19, 2019 at 4:12 am

they need a counter for how mANY TIMES THEY SAY SACRILEGIOUS I DIDNT MEAN TO HOT CAPS LOCK BUT IM TO LAZY TO CHANE IT. i need to go practice

we_are_made _of_love · August 19, 2019 at 5:14 am

youtube’s AI noticing twoset roasting the robots: >:0

vitalis emanuel · August 19, 2019 at 6:39 am

ain't wintergatan already reviewed that automated violin from the early 19s?

U.V. S. · August 19, 2019 at 8:59 am

But it will be a great gift to humanity when a robot appears who can play a billion notes per second! It could perform million full flights of the bumblebee in less than a second!

mr bear bear · August 19, 2019 at 9:01 am

What is the music at the outro?

AstroTruth · August 19, 2019 at 10:07 am

They made organs that play themselves, pianos that aren't pianos, one day they'll get rid of musicians altogether 🙁 Great video though!

Kevin Dani Jobilius · August 19, 2019 at 10:18 am

5:01 check this out guys https://youtu.be/xs0mP2cOmJs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *