John Cena Laid Out! Ex TNA Star Makes In Ring Debut! | WWE Smackdown Live, July 18, 2017 Review

Published by Jan Heaney on

John Cena Laid Out! Ex TNA Star Makes In Ring Debut! | WWE Smackdown Live, July 18, 2017 Review


Ex TNA wrestler Mike Kanellis makes his in-ring
debut. John Cena talks about flags. And Jinder Mahal teases the match with no
rules…that actually has about 19 very specific, different rules. I’m Oli Davis, and this is the 18th July
2017 edition of Smackdown Live…in about 4 minutes. Punjabi Prison Rules
Smackdown opened with the aforementioned Jinder Mahal lesson on how Punjabi Prison matches
work. It’s quite simple. There are four doors in the inner structure,
which will be opened when a competitor calls for them. The center tagger then lights a pinecone on
fire and throws it to the player at whack-bat. The player hits the pinecone and runs to knock
a cedar stick off the cross rods. Twig-runners dash back and forth until the
pinecone burns out and the umpire calls “Hot box.” Finally, the scoredowns are added up, then
divided by nine. And in addition to all that, as Mahal reminded
us at the end…in this match, there are no rules. Randy Orton then climbed the outer structure
to tell Jinder he’s winning the belt back this Sunday at Battleground. Even with 1 mile of steel-reinforced bamboo,
this feud remains very, very tedious. Jimmy Uso beat Kofi Kingston
Jimmy Uso beat Kofi Kingston by rolling a top rope crossbody into a pin – that’s your
big go-home angle for their feud. The story has been booked out of sequence. The go-home spot should’ve been their brilliant
rap battle to make people actually excited for Battleground. Kurt Angle Scandal Fallout
With Jason Jordan moving to Raw to be with his long-lost father Kurt Angle – let me check,
yep, that’s still the actual storyline – Renee Young sat down to interview the American Alpha
tag team partner he left behind. Chad Gable promised he’s getting a new start,
too, which hopefully means a solid mid-card run, building up to a US title program later
in the year. Mike Kanellis beat Sami Zayn
Former TNA and ROH wrestler Mike Kanellis made his in-ring debut against Sami Zayn,
and boy do they have big plans for him…getting dominated by Zayn for practically the entire
match, only avoiding defeat thanks to his wife Maria. Red Flag
USA! USA! Flags! Pearl Harbour! America! Cold War! This Sunday! You guessed it, John Cena cut a promo. Like most of the non-live audience, Rusev
didn’t enjoy the patriotism, attacking Cena from behind and planting his Bulgarian flag
at the top of the ramp. Becky Lynch beat Charlotte
Becky Lynch made Charlotte tap clean in a decent 10 minute match. I think Becky’s one of the most underutilised
wrestlers on Tuesday nights, but Smackdown has really made Charlotte feel far less important
than her Raw days. Because WWE can’t book singles feuds this
Summer, there are three other people involved in their Battleground match this Sunday, so
Natalya, Lana and Tamina all came down for a scuffle. The Lana and Tamina alliance stood tall at
the end, which makes me think Lana is winning at Battleground. The Fashion X Files: The Truth Is Not H
Breezeango’s Fashion Files skits are consistently among Smackdown’s top segments, and despite
a few goofy gags, their latest X Files parodies are no different. Fandango’s comedy is so good, he even made
the rather lame joke of a delivery guy being mistaken for an alien work. The fake little green man was delivering a
box that contained…the severed head of Fandango’s cuddly toy horse Tully, and a note that said
“to be concluded at Battleground…” Which probably means…Chad Gable is going
to be Fandango and Breeze’s baby. Kevin Owens & Baron Corbin beat AJ Styles
& Shinsuke Nakamura The main event was a tag team match tying
together two different Battleground feuds – AJ Styles vs Kevin Owens, and Shinsuke Nakamura
vs Baron Corbin. Owens pinned Styles after a blind tag in a
fun match, but this was the go-home show to a pay-per-view. After Raw managed a really good pre-Great
Balls of Fire show, Smackdown have yet to wake from their post-Wrestlemania slumber. Oh well, at least there’s Talking Sma-OH
GODDAMMIT. So that was this week’s Smackdown Live in
about 4 minutes, here’s the usual ratings recap from top to bottom: SmackDamn, Smacktastic,
Smack Bang In The Middle, Ellsworthy and Raw. I’ll reveal my score very shortly, but first,
vote in the poll above my head to give it your own rating. I’ll announce the results in tomorrow’s
WrestleTalk News. This is meant to be the go-home show, but
the episode managed to make me less excited for the majority of Battleground’s card. Orton vs Jinder in the WWE title feud is really
dragging down Tuesday nights, and the Owens, Corbin, Styles and Nakamura combinations are
becoming stale. This week’s Smackdown is Ellsworthy. What is the real reason WWE cancelled Talking
Smack? And there’s been a huge update on Kurt Angle’s
WWE status. Click the videos to the left to learn more,
press subscribe and support WrestleTalk on Patreon. I’ve been Oli Davis and that was wrestling.


100 Comments

Kotaac · July 19, 2017 at 2:37 pm

I need to step out of retirement for Smackdown.

Adam Acevedo · July 19, 2017 at 2:38 pm

Oli has Diarrhea

KS_uploads _stuff · July 19, 2017 at 2:41 pm

can someone do me a favor and explain how a steel reinforced bamboo work😅

Essa Icon · July 19, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Mike kanellis lol they extremely buried mike Bennett before he even make an impact xD

Mantle · July 19, 2017 at 2:46 pm

that fantastic Mr fox reference xD

Fearless BLaZ · July 19, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Smackdown Live suffers simply because they couldnt capitalize on Angles (HA!) and heat… Usos, Bullet Club, Rusev, Naomi, Bray Wyatt, Mickie James… what? go way back? Cody, The Freakin Miz about 20 times. Their needs to be focus on making the script writing more competitive, not micro management of talent. Why have a talent turned Executive and take advantage? What killed wrestling?… Follow the money.

mooseyfate777 · July 19, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Damn it Oli you tapped into my love of The Fantastic Mr. Fox. Good on you sir. I salute you.

FSE · July 19, 2017 at 3:00 pm

was on my computer most of the matches

Dragomaru Masterix · July 19, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Oki should replace the rating from Raw to "Smack in the face"

Shubham Pawar · July 19, 2017 at 3:01 pm

wellcom oli

Sammy4549 · July 19, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Yeah, Oli. The bottom one now should be, "I'd rather watch RAW".

m m · July 19, 2017 at 3:02 pm

I think mike might want to get released too. lets see👁👁🔟🔟🔟🐴🐴🐴

m m · July 19, 2017 at 3:06 pm

I think it fandango vs tyler breeze.💔💔💔💔

Cianan Kelly · July 19, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Great fantastic mr fox reference

Max Bodenhausen · July 19, 2017 at 3:07 pm

I love you Oli. Fantastic Mr. Fox 4-Life

Blake Long · July 19, 2017 at 3:08 pm

I love that Whack Bat reference Oli.

Pastechi · July 19, 2017 at 3:09 pm

give becky the damn belt

Quincy L. Edwards · July 19, 2017 at 3:10 pm

One doesn't listen to RULES in a world where Jinder Mahal is the champ after being a jobber for six years.

Mareion Davis · July 19, 2017 at 3:10 pm

My Birthday is on the 18th

Simone96TV · July 19, 2017 at 3:10 pm

The only reason I voted Ellsworthy is the Fashion Files segment, otherwise I would have voted Raw. Incredibly boring episode, Raw has been dominating lately. SmackDown get your shit together

The Mechanic · July 19, 2017 at 3:11 pm

I like how Oli made the word "rules" sound as dumb as the rules are in the match.

Quincy L. Edwards · July 19, 2017 at 3:13 pm

John Cena's nationalistic speech – I will win because list of national tragedies, plus flag. Whaaaaa?!?

Garvit Bhatia · July 19, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Weird to say,but Smackdown is like Raw nowadays. Same every week.

DHOOM- z7 · July 19, 2017 at 3:19 pm

you are too funny man😂😂

Phil Lee · July 19, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Jason come home chad Miss you

Phil Lee · July 19, 2017 at 3:23 pm

Lana Lana

Shaddy Snake · July 19, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Smackdown was awesome this week. I'm excited for the PPV sunday!

Nithin Prasad · July 19, 2017 at 3:33 pm

MONDAY NIGHT RAW MUST NOW TAKE AJ STYLES AND NAKAMURA TOO..GIVE SMACKDOWN RIDER AND Curt Hawkins
.. AND TAKE LANA TOO..AND MAKE SASHA BANKS VS ALEXA BLISS FOR THE NEXT 5 PAYPERVIEW

Rasslin fan and Animu watcher · July 19, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Shinsuke Nakamura beats Kevin Owens and Baron Corbin every week = Nobody complains

Cena pins Rusev once = buried

dbagdi1998 · July 19, 2017 at 3:34 pm

You need to change Smackdowns ratings system because RAW is far better and shouldn't be the worst rating

Rhys Cake · July 19, 2017 at 3:36 pm

That title is a bit too clickbaity for my liking.

Wrestling Mark · July 19, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Is nobody going to talk about how john said the American flag colors kick ass, then rusev comes out wearing those colors plus black?

Shawn Fox · July 19, 2017 at 3:40 pm

I love the Fantastic Mr. Fox reference.

THERHINO8624 · July 19, 2017 at 3:41 pm

that awkward moment when the the face of the company comes across as a far right wing nationalist. the next time he's in the ring you won't be able to to see him because of the pointed hood and smoke from the burning crosses on stage from his entrance

nolan Philpott · July 19, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Two "them vs USA" matches? Is it 1989??

Anoop Kuruvilla · July 19, 2017 at 3:48 pm

Did raw and smackdown creative team switch ..if so please fire this damn team..

Raynard Bennett · July 19, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Yay Fantastic Mr.Fox reference 🔥🔥🔥

FatalFarrow · July 19, 2017 at 3:50 pm

I think we should all stop worrying about "go home shows" before a PPV. The WWE clearly isn't intending to use the last show before a PPV as a way to get you to want to watch the PPV. It is smarter to span the alluring material across several shows than to put all of them in the show before the PPV.

Martin · July 19, 2017 at 3:51 pm

raw purposely took smackdowns best stars during the superstar shakeup

this explains why smackdown has been lackluster

Jim Gaming · July 19, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Can Oli review Raw and SDLive and Luke review NXT and 205 live

D Moran · July 19, 2017 at 3:54 pm

I hate John Cena never have never will

Dylan Parker · July 19, 2017 at 4:07 pm

can you tell the SD bookers were pissed about the superstar shake-up?

charlotte, kevin owens, sami zayn, new day, rusev – obviously hadn't foreseen what they might do with all these new ppl

wbrodie55 · July 19, 2017 at 4:19 pm

vince is really going out of his way to fuck over SD since the "shake up".

David Burkholder · July 19, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Oli. You don't understand how happy the Fantastic Mr. Fox bit made me.

Fergus Pearson · July 19, 2017 at 4:26 pm

HOTBOX!!

poka fan · July 19, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Smack down is really missing the miz big time and you can see it when it comes to people on the mic he just brings the best out in others and himself

That High Halo Guy · July 19, 2017 at 4:32 pm

all I heard was hotbox

xleft4deadxxx · July 19, 2017 at 4:34 pm

I'm Oli Davis

Diarmuid Ze-Wrex · July 19, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Luke for raw reviews and oli for smackdown reviews

Fil Arkonus · July 19, 2017 at 4:44 pm

At this stage I think WWE should just put all their actual tag teams on one show and let the singles guys with nothing else to do fill the slot on the other. I mean they end up having so many random tag team matches anyway and they have so few actual teams left.

Brig Evans · July 19, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Instead of the 'Raw' rating, the lowest should be 'SmakedDown'

RADU SOCOL · July 19, 2017 at 4:53 pm

I'll be honest, if this was a normal episode it would have been Smack Bang in the Middle in my opinion. But since it was the "go home"…well, Ellsworthy it is.

Edwin Castro-Gonzalez · July 19, 2017 at 4:59 pm

The Punjabi Prison has the 2011 Sin Cara lighting

Mohsin Shaikh · July 19, 2017 at 5:06 pm

I don't agree that lowest ranking of SmackDown is Raw because despite being 3 hours show Raw is doing much better than SmackDown right now so please remove Raw from lowest ranking position

Bob Funland · July 19, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Definitely Ellsworthy. I was at the live show and every time WWE comes here it's boring for the majority of the show.

T r Cneil · July 19, 2017 at 5:10 pm

how the fuck does the miracle mike bennet get onto a main roster and bobby roode is stuck in NXT…….WTF ?

Chris Bowman · July 19, 2017 at 5:13 pm

UPDATE: In the 5 woman elimination match, Lana and Tamina are the last 2 participants. Tamina then stabs Lana in the back to win the match and claim the title shot at Summerslam against Naomi for herself.

Ryan Curran · July 19, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Anyone else see the SWAFT SIGN???

Noogai87 · July 19, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Shouls the last rating be "Smackdown Lame" or do we still stick with the "raw"?

megamovieman101 · July 19, 2017 at 5:54 pm

This week's Raw was the final straw for me tbh, and SmackDown I'm only still watching because of the amazing showing it put on from late 2016 to early 2017. The only things I even care about anymore there are Breezango, Carmella, Chad Gable, and Lana.

Kyng Hentai TV · July 19, 2017 at 6:13 pm

talk about Lio Rush going to NXT

Logan Wills · July 19, 2017 at 6:14 pm

its luke harper and eric rowan thats doing the fashion file stuff

Steven O. · July 19, 2017 at 6:32 pm

WWE has ruined Mike Bennett, it seemed in his match last night even when he was getting offense he was fighting in character. All WWE did was make Maria the star and Mike Bennett the after thought.

Tyrone Bailey · July 19, 2017 at 6:32 pm

#OliOliOxenFree

Latinofire202 · July 19, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Definitely tired of Orton/Jinder. They both lack charisma. no one wants to see USA vs a foreigner type storylines anymore and there's 3 of them on SDL right now.

Tony Barrios · July 19, 2017 at 6:57 pm

APOYE A… WRESTLETALK!! Danos un "Subscribe". 😀

Helicard · July 19, 2017 at 7:14 pm

I am sure some people got bored and went home

river gaming and toys · July 19, 2017 at 7:27 pm

oli I get the rules you said about the prision joke ots the rules of the sport that is played in the fantistic me fox movie plz tell me if its right I think it is

Rollin Kocher · July 19, 2017 at 7:47 pm

who could be attacking them? he said it was one of them had greasy/gelled hair

Forza Juve · July 19, 2017 at 8:06 pm

Tag team main events are the worst

mike selvia · July 19, 2017 at 8:12 pm

It's official, smackdown fucking sucks….again 😒

Mike Sanders · July 19, 2017 at 8:25 pm

So tag team guys are fighting singles matches while singles guys are fighting tag team matches. This is wwe logic at it's best

HellBrYnger · July 19, 2017 at 8:57 pm

did anyone count how many times Fandango said "wow" to that delivery guy? 😀

Jastastic S · July 19, 2017 at 8:59 pm

The only reason I voted smack in my the middle and not Ellsworthy is because of Breezango

Jbl Hhh · July 19, 2017 at 9:04 pm

yes

AB · July 19, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Jinder is the best part of smackdown

Sherry Alphonso · July 19, 2017 at 9:58 pm

When will Brie and Nikki Bella return to smackdown live

Sherry Alphonso · July 19, 2017 at 10:00 pm

When will Chris jericho be returning to smackdown live

Henrik M. · July 19, 2017 at 10:03 pm

U have to chance the "raw" rating

niall power · July 19, 2017 at 11:20 pm

instead of using raw as a bad show rating why not use wcw 2000

Little Flower · July 20, 2017 at 12:24 am

Sami Zayn DESERVES BETTER 😒😒

Furry Donkey · July 20, 2017 at 12:47 am

Oli, instead of using Raw use Thunder.

Will Reed · July 20, 2017 at 2:28 am

It would be awful if the bottom rating had to change from "RAW" to "Smack Down."

i b · July 20, 2017 at 2:30 am

I think you need to change Raw from the bottom of the rating system. Raw has been killing SDL lately.

The Cheeseburger_666 · July 20, 2017 at 3:38 am

johm sema: "uggggh… ugggghh… 'murica…great….. huuuhhghh… 'murica.. strong….. not weak…… uggh… guh……"

same ol' shit from that pissant almost every tuesday…. shit's worse than bray wyatt's "I….. god….. you….. weak….. ugggh guh….. human….. die…" bullshit.

RoyalOutcast · July 20, 2017 at 4:48 am

What you said about mike and Samis match had me cracking up laughing cause I thought I was the only one who noticed that. I hate it when someone dominates in the entire match and the other one that did nothing throughout the entire matche, finds a way to win. Wtf

Aaron Rosales · July 20, 2017 at 5:33 am

chad gable is just to faze out like luke harper

Dokainin · July 20, 2017 at 6:32 am

WWE wrote themselves into a corner with the Jinder Mahal experiment and dragging out his feud with Randy Orton. They should have just had him retain in St. Louis without the family BS and ended it there so he could move into a new angle. but at the same time Orton is one of the few guys on Smackdown who can be in a losing feud with Jinder and not suffer as a result of it so they had no real choice but to stretch it out or risk burying someone with a future.

Fact is that when WWE decided they needed to push an Indian so as to appeal to a new market they screwed themselves due to the fact their only notable Indian star was a jobber with about as much personality as sandpaper and very little in ring ability.

Jousel De Chavez · July 20, 2017 at 8:29 am

CLEARLY…
OLI DAVIS IS FOR RAW ONLY!!!
POOR SMACKDOWN!!!

Tahir Mehar · July 20, 2017 at 8:49 am

NEXT Week : Randy Orton real mother Revealed its #BlackCobra Its True Its Damn true..

Soulless Turtles · July 20, 2017 at 11:35 am

Okay… that Fantastic Mr Fox reference makes you my favourite… thing

Brett Fishburn · July 20, 2017 at 11:57 am

That "rap battle" proved that not all black people have rhythm

Biggie2245 · July 20, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Baron Corbin is winning the belt at battleground if I'm right I want acknowledgement for it on you next video after the ppv

MoCooper247 · July 20, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Orton is stale my favorite.

Nunya Biznes · July 20, 2017 at 7:57 pm

I HATE Mike & Maria! They absolutely SUCKS BALLS! I hated their stupid "Power of Love" gimmick in TNA and I hate it even more in WWE. Maria mostly bc she is just nasty and can't act. Mike would be better IMO without Maria and DEF without that love gimmick crap. Just sayin 😉

SHELLBACKS CLUB 🐢 · July 20, 2017 at 8:39 pm

the Breezango skits are not funny in any way. maybe for a 4 year old or a mentally retarded adult.

Ilesy77 · July 21, 2017 at 2:09 pm

WWE seem to hate tag teams at the moment, DIY, Enzo and Cass, American Alpha all gone and the Hype Bros probably on their way out too.
New day will end up being the longest reigning SD tag champs too because they'll run out of teams to fight!

Kristene Laythe · July 21, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Harper and Rowan will be the mystery Breezango opponents

Eric Dishman · July 21, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Instead of the rating of raw go with snore oli davis

Joey Springs · July 22, 2017 at 9:17 am

I enjoy the information provided, however the method of delivery leaves something to be desired

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *