Hands-On Review: Denon DJ SC6000, SC6000M & X1850 Prime Media Players & Mixer

Published by Jan Heaney on

Hands-On Review: Denon DJ SC6000, SC6000M & X1850 Prime Media Players & Mixer



84 Comments

JP Minnich · January 11, 2020 at 9:27 pm

Great video but why so grey?

DJ Dash TV · January 11, 2020 at 9:27 pm

damn thats sexy!

Ethan Leo · January 11, 2020 at 9:38 pm

Yes!

Michael Gerth · January 11, 2020 at 9:39 pm

Well done my friend! Super sweet gear 🙂

Parrog AKA Paradise · January 11, 2020 at 9:40 pm

Nice outline/overview – thank you! Looking forward to seeing the full review. I like the less glitzy look, the screens and the job wheels (but still not the greatest neon fan tbh). For me, the most important part of this is the 2nd Generation commitment because hopefully it means this model series is here to stay. Have a great weekend, all.

ClectaSkiMusic · January 11, 2020 at 9:42 pm

I'll keep hoping & dreaming on owning those… lolz

eric burgos · January 11, 2020 at 9:58 pm

I'm getting a rotary mixer for a second setup at some point and will likely get a pair of these as well – I love my SC5000s!

charles djoldie wrigley · January 11, 2020 at 10:05 pm

Good review that phil. Hope denon do a 2 channel prime controller tho. Am not a 4 channel type of guy

SehxualPanda · January 11, 2020 at 10:08 pm

uh-oh the video editor screwed up the color correction lol.
aside that, great job with the review Phil!

Dan Homes · January 11, 2020 at 10:09 pm

I really love how he was struggling to differentiate the 5000 over the 6000 and why you should buy it. Outside of a bigger screen and ssd’s seems Ike a marketing ploy. If you REALLY wanted to make me buy the new prime, you should have included a DAW, touch pad, and VST’s.

Rene Lotz · January 11, 2020 at 10:10 pm

I like the look of the new gear. Seems like it is "grown up" now. SC5000 has a great quality but I wouldn't have bought it because it looked too much like a toy to me. SC6000 looks very professional now.

Lorcan Mc Afee · January 11, 2020 at 10:11 pm

They look like so much much fun

Rene Lotz · January 11, 2020 at 10:16 pm

Question concerning running Rekordbox tracks on the prime players: I imported some Rekordbox-Tracks for testing in Engine Prime. Hot Cue Points were set correctly, Loops were just "transformed" to normal Hot Cue points (they definitely should consider adding loops also as Loops on the same position in the Prime "loop" section additionally to the cue point) BUT: The beatgrid was not taken over from Rekordbox. The tracks where I spent effort in Rekordbox to correct the grid were just analysed by Prime resulting in same (wrong) beatgrid like in Rekordbox analysis ==> Is there no option to tell Engine Prime (or the SC… players) to just take the Rekordbox beatgrid?

Erwin Gouw · January 11, 2020 at 10:30 pm

Why this strange Colors in the video?

Stephen Shiels · January 11, 2020 at 10:39 pm

The new players will find it hard t o fit in a coffin. The SC5000 that I have only just fitted in an odysee coffin used for Pioneer CDJ's.

DJPOPA AL · January 11, 2020 at 11:01 pm

I pre-ordered my Prime 4 at release, & I will do the same for these 6000M's🗣 Are you listening American Musical?💳👈🏽

Danielle King · January 11, 2020 at 11:01 pm

I like .

Rick Walker · January 11, 2020 at 11:34 pm

Can I watch Netflix on it

Roberto Gonzales · January 11, 2020 at 11:35 pm

Great overview. First mention of the jog wheels difference in glide, weightiness that I've seen mentioned. I am curious about compatibility bw the SC5000s and newer mixer? First nature says duh, but more to the point of software wise. Any word on this from Denon? My concern would be that there is some random updated circuitry preventing seemless operation between the older players and new mixer. I'd prefer to purchase the new mixer.

Bo Phil · January 11, 2020 at 11:40 pm

That's pretty cool to get a first look so quickly, well done Phil!

Bo Phil · January 11, 2020 at 11:44 pm

The player looks so professional and the built quality looks superb, way better materials than Pioneer. I will buy it straight when it comes out

Totally Magic · January 11, 2020 at 11:46 pm

What a great overview this guy does, looking forward to getting these. Having been a dedicated Pioneer CDJ user from the very early days, I changed to Denon 2 years ago and have never regretted it. Loving everything about these decks, and I know nothing is perfect but at least Denon are pushing forward with DJ tech unlike (sadly) Pioneer DJ who seemed to have stalled development over the last few years.

Andy Jardine · January 12, 2020 at 12:18 am

Great overview. They're taking it to another level think I need to get saving!

djinnov8 · January 12, 2020 at 12:24 am

Good concept for a review but horribly delivered!!!

toomuchjam · January 12, 2020 at 12:27 am

I still don't like the garish green LED colour on these Denon products but overall good styling improvements. Still room for improvement.

Atem S. · January 12, 2020 at 12:45 am

great stuff!!

Scott Frost · January 12, 2020 at 12:54 am

The hd2500 released in 2006 was the first unit to have a built in hard drive bay. Also the jobs look like numark platters from the tax line. The jobs on the 37/3900 were heavy and smooth just like a 1200 which is what DJs wanted. Having a screen as big as an iPad also means that if it fails it’ll be costly to replace. The old Denon gear was able to linked up with a real iPad for future proofing. It seems like the old Denon tech was not sold to in music if they aren’t using it.

Mike Gallichio - DJ Maku Gee · January 12, 2020 at 1:00 am

Aside from FOMO, I appreciate that it's more of an incremental update than an overall upgrade. I've always thought that the screens on my SC5000s are zoomed in too much, so the view changes on the 6000s is a great implementation – but it's not a deal breaker. I personally don't have a need for a hard drive bay – I update my library regularly, and the system with thumb drives in the older models is fine. Functionality aside, I am a BIG fan of the aesthetic choices. I was interested to hear Phil say the jogs aren't actually larger on the player body, but it makes sense as they're shallower wheels compared to the 5000s. I like the more minimal design approach with the buttons etc, too.

pyers · January 12, 2020 at 1:52 am

Great review

K9 Chance · January 12, 2020 at 1:59 am

Very not too expensive 5k not I’m my budget

Gunther Roelandts · January 12, 2020 at 3:14 am

Nice review, can the sc6000 harddrive feature be used with a x1800?

Corey Hall · January 12, 2020 at 4:28 am

What about music analyzed by virtual DJ?

Earnest Mazique · January 12, 2020 at 5:28 am

Thanks for this, Phil! I love my CDJ 2000NXS2s but I was curious so I ordered a SC5000 just before the new gear was announced. I really like it so far and I guess I'm the only person who likes all the extra lights. I think I'm going to go in on the first generation and ride that out until the 3rd or 4th gen players drop. Still, the second generation shows a lot of promise and I'm glad to see that Denon is still supporting the 1st gen prime players and mixer.

Ramon Valdez · January 12, 2020 at 7:01 am

Question is there an improvement on the line faders of the x1850 mixer? Personally did not like them on x1800 felt a bit plactic and loose.

Lee's Gaming · January 12, 2020 at 7:06 am

what is with the rubbish colour on this video :/

DJ Mützang · January 12, 2020 at 7:47 am

Wooww!

Alexander Slater · January 12, 2020 at 7:52 am

What's up with the lighting Phil?

And the 10 inch screen now allows you to see 10 tracks at once instead of 6…..

You can plug these into serato and they will just work……but not at launch

Can you use rekordbox ongoing or is it just a onetime import still?

DJ DLS · January 12, 2020 at 7:53 am

i like them! specially the split-cue, denon listens!

Einstein X · January 12, 2020 at 8:56 am

I've always been inclined to go for the alternative when everyone else just sheepishly follows the herd. When everyone played on SL1200's I got myself a pair of solid Vestax turntables there have been turning unscathed ever since. When everyone got an iPhone I got a Sony Ericsson. Soon I'll be getting en EV Kia instead of a Tesla, so these Denon's really the type of Manufacturer I'd buy from. Not that I have a need for them and I will spend my money on other stuff than DJ gear, but these are typically items I'd buy.

DJ TASKA · January 12, 2020 at 10:41 am

I wanna see Phil dj

Ace Hardy · January 12, 2020 at 11:59 am

📝

Telony Ex · January 12, 2020 at 12:45 pm

From serato to to controller face.

Lee Herbert · January 12, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Hi

Brilliant review. One question on the new mixer. Are the 4 channels tighter to move up and down compared to the older mixer? The 1800 they are very loose and if the 1850 are a lot tighter in feel with more resistance it would sway onto buying this newer version thanks

Terry Jackson · January 12, 2020 at 1:43 pm

the hotcue button design is a step backwards in my opinion surely visablility is key here.

Terry Jackson · January 12, 2020 at 1:49 pm

when you press that incresed track view button it should hide the playlist tree altogether and show full screen single playlists, isnt that obvious? click the back button to reappear. who makes these decisions?????????

Gerald V · January 12, 2020 at 1:51 pm

wow!!!!! Tune in on Monday, January 13th at 10am EST for more exciting news from Denon DJ!
U.S. retail pricing SC6000 PRIME – $1499 | SC6000M PRIME – $1699 | X1850 PRIME – $1099 | Shipping early Q2, 2020.
The SC5000 will remain available at $1099, both the SC5000 and SC5000M will continue to receive updates and evolve with the rest of the family.
“With the introduction of the SC6000 and SC6000M, Denon DJ reaffirms its position as ‘the company that listens’, representing an ever-evolving philosophy to deliver flagship DJ technology to the professional DJ booth,” said Denon DJ’s Creative Director, Paul Dakeyne. “Both units have creatively advanced workflow and feature sets, plus on-board Wi-Fi streaming, ensure DJs will always have the greatest catalogs of music available to them. Connected to the totally uncompromising features, build quality and performance power of the X1850 mixer, DJs can be sure they truly embrace the future’”
*available in a future free software update | **Serato compatibility available in a future free software update

Terry Jackson · January 12, 2020 at 2:03 pm

excelent review phil x

1CBRDUDE · January 12, 2020 at 2:08 pm

If someone at Serato get software to use a iPad and be able to mount it on a pioneer s9 mixeror any mixer and a USB hub on the mixer two RANE 12 or 2 cdj could be connected as well on the mixer and iPad for looking at the software Game is over no longer to have a laptop just a iPad

DJ Janus Lauvring · January 12, 2020 at 2:56 pm

I love the hidden games on the SC6000 🙂 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jN2qStYaAQk 😛

Sinista I.Z. · January 12, 2020 at 3:22 pm

I think it's funny that biggest complaints about dj gear was it was to big and bulk. So they did away with turntables and vinyl. Now here we are with a kit that's just 4 inches shy of being a turntable. Granted it's very nice looking kit. But so long as there is support for the sc5000 kit. I'll stay there. Everything is getting bigger and heavier again. And motorized platters? Again very nice but if I want to feel a turntable I'll pull out my 1200's cause there is no replacement for them. But I'm happy to see Denon pulling out the stops improve engine prime and let's get this party started.

Alan Hayes · January 12, 2020 at 3:36 pm

It’s so interesting that a few years ago, another company changed the way we look at players by eliminating the CD Drive. The XDJ’s were targeted at the bedroom DJ who wanted to practice on a deck similar to what he found in the booth. Now, no one questions at all the fact that these don’t have a mechanical drive! Our tastes and sense of “Normalcy” really evolves over time! Great review :). One omission: The SC6000M has a 8.5 inch wheel vs. the 7 inch on the 5000. DJ’s had really requested that. Glad Denon DJ listened.

Bence Ujvári · January 12, 2020 at 4:03 pm

They have to build the computer in to the player, cuz they can’t make useable software for computers xd

But, seriously it’s not a big change, just a different approach of the workflow, digital players. Let’s be honest, we don’t need an ipad on top of the player. We don’t want to watch M. Night Shyamalan movies on them. I prefer the old workflow, you collect music, sort them on your computer, set cue points, save loops, make playlists, and so on. This way you really can take your time with the music, plan the transitions, and when you play live, you can concentrate on the effects, the crowd, enjoy the music, cuz it’s not that interesting to watch somebody staring at a big screen, and trying to find that cue point or the right length loop. And i think we want the freedom to “play” and enjoy the music, dance, look at the crowd, not the players all the time. Let’s be honest, you have roughly 3 min when a track is playing, in that 3 mins, you won’t change the world 🤷‍♂️, or just won’t make the best choices, so take your time at home, and have fun in the club 🙌

Alex Gauthier · January 12, 2020 at 4:44 pm

Dj controllers from a discolored distopian future xD

S HQ · January 12, 2020 at 4:47 pm

Dam, feels like just yesterday I got my 5000s lol. Hope denon do some kind of trade in deal from the 5000s to 6000s as it seems cost wise their more or less exactly the same, at least for now. For new customers buying denon prime gear they'll of course buy the 6000s over the 5000s, I'm pretty much certain of this. Resale value for those of us wanting to upgrade and sell the 5000s 2nd hand however has definitely been shot down so I hope Denon can do something like this, especially given we've been waiting for software upgrades in stages and now we are being told that if we want better we will need to buy new. Same goes for the mixer, although looks more of an aesthetic upgrade, but same cost wise to the x1800.

Jeff Serritella · January 12, 2020 at 5:40 pm

Question on the X1850 mixer

When attenuating the EQ, does it cut out the signal in the headphones or do you still hear full cue signal?

Basically, is the EQ pre or post cue?

I like to hear the original signal in my headphones while attenuating the EQ when mixing so I can come in on the low, mid, or high

Seldjan Dervish · January 12, 2020 at 7:21 pm

Please update your camera also

Caleb Kent · January 12, 2020 at 8:01 pm

from the video the styling looks like the N.I. Machine and S4mk3. does it look like that up close?

The Bedroom DJ · January 13, 2020 at 1:23 am

They look neat but that price for one?! Damn!!!!!

Raphy Martinez · January 13, 2020 at 1:56 am

It’s almost like this and the DJCITY video are following the same script

Allan Murray · January 13, 2020 at 2:16 am

How do these compare to a laptop and controller, can you get the same pro feel and feature set with a controller like the pioneer ddj 800 or the denon mc7000 running software on a laptop.

Miggi so bad · January 13, 2020 at 4:40 am

So can u use virtual dj too with it because it's a software too that lots of dj use.

Adam Lyons · January 13, 2020 at 9:51 am

Denon is killing pioneer atm with the technology

Theo B · January 13, 2020 at 2:54 pm

Hi Phil, I have the sc5000m's and it is impossable to performe a longish spinback! I've even tryed ajusting the screw on the center pin but if you do this it makes the whole platter unuseable. Is the 6000m better at spinbacks? cheers.

Marvelous TRN · January 13, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Does it work for djay for the iPad? Or Mac? Also does it have accessibility for visually impaired DJs? I never hear you talk about people who DJ that are blind? Do they have the settings and functionalities implemented in the software?

Jose Lugo · January 13, 2020 at 4:01 pm

Thanks Phil

jamie campbell · January 13, 2020 at 4:46 pm

A design I don’t understand is why have the hard drive under the player ? Means having to pick up the player just to get your hard drive back out. Not the best for swapping over

Great British · January 13, 2020 at 7:00 pm

not sure about the colour scheme for this review Phill!

mikelo303 · January 13, 2020 at 7:17 pm

There should be ONE format for all DJ software for cue point's etc. We need standardization!

Touch MyPod · January 13, 2020 at 11:00 pm

The older X1800 mixer has a limiter, so that’s not new. Is it improved?
Also regarding effects and their quantization- when linked via network cable – for Engine Prime and library sharing – wasn’t it quantized at that point? Or did it simply read the BPM from that network connection and adjust the effects to the BPM number, not specifically quantization? It has the effect of quantization if beat grid was set correctly. And since the BPM is totally dependent on the grid – what’s the difference?
I think the platter is also a tad larger. Can you confirm? Thanks.

joe arrowsmith · January 14, 2020 at 12:48 pm

These are looking really good. As a long term pioneer user, I really hope that denon become a genuine force to be reckoned with in the industry, as they seem to be making a far greater effort to push the industry forward. Even pioneer fanboys should recognise that competition is beneficial to the consumer.

I really wish they'd allow for full RGB waveforms though, and more importantly a standard green/yellow/red vu meter setup, denon's almost monochromatic meters look nice, but I don't think they do as good a job of quickly relaying information at a glance.

James King · January 14, 2020 at 2:23 pm

Pioneer are getting left behind here.

Weaver Games · January 15, 2020 at 3:10 am

I've never closed an expensive car door lol

Malcolm Hardiman · January 15, 2020 at 3:11 pm

What streaming services are compatible so far?

Dj Scully · January 16, 2020 at 12:35 am

total overkill

Sakurako Hikari · January 16, 2020 at 12:38 am

What's wrong with the washed out colors on this video?

Sakurako Hikari · January 16, 2020 at 12:42 am

What I don't like are those little tiny miniscule pads which are so ugly and look hard to work with when they're so S M O L L. Why they can't make them as pretty as Pioneer does?

Tourist Info · January 16, 2020 at 7:51 am

Definately more polished looked. Better improvement.

S HQ · January 16, 2020 at 11:06 pm

I can't seem to make out if the Cue and Play buttons are rubber or plastic?

AKSO Official · January 18, 2020 at 12:15 am

Thanks for the video! I noticed something interesting at 12:25 you started playing around with the cue points a bit and I noticed that the bar count nest to the clock seemed like it was counting the bars remaining to the next cue point. Is that true?
Thanks in advance.
AKSO

dj miXin · January 28, 2020 at 3:16 pm

As a Technic and rotary DJ, I've played with Serato + computer aside from vinyl but still used my turntables as the controller. I have to say Denon finally caught my eye unlike Pioneer.

Agustin Edition Streams, Vlogs, And Travels · January 30, 2020 at 12:11 am

when is the release date for the X1850 mixer?

DBLG65 · February 5, 2020 at 12:38 am

Denon has a way of kicking it's customer in the balls. They just came out with the SC5000M last year and now all those people who bought those are probably pissed off. I see no real improvement worth spending $4500. By December they'll be $999 each.

Sherwin Bajao · February 17, 2020 at 6:06 pm

Great analogy about the car door.

Brofights · February 29, 2020 at 8:09 pm

Love the players, still not a fan of the mixer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *